Drawing Nearer to God: The Battles We Fight Within.

Have you ever sat in complete silence and listened to the thoughts that run through your mind for a minute? No? You should at least once in your lifetime.

Doing this, gives you an insight into how hectic or serene your life is at that present moment, it also shows you the battles you are FIGHTING WITHIN.

A couple of days ago, I spoke with two friends of mine. We generally spoke about life, and all the things we had realised as we got older and we made a very assertive observation, that everyone has a heavy burden that they are carrying alone but after speaking with them both, I felt relief because the thoughts that were occupying my mind, were released and I had a glimpse of what peace of mind felt like. Moreover, I felt compelled to speak on the topic briefly, which is why I conducted this blog post in this manner.

As a university student, you may be battling with many things; this may be your education. As deadlines are approaching, you realise how much work you need to complete and you still do not understand the topic. Family and friends are becoming very dependent on you to do things for them or asking to see you but you are torn as you have little to no time to spare and they feel neglected, issues at home may be bothering you, causing unrest in your heart, mind and body LITERALLY. I have recently realised that plenty, if not ALL university students, especially those of an African descent suffer in silence when it comes to dealing with our problems, as we were raised to deal with our issues in-house. This technically means ‘nobody else has to know what is going on in my life, apart from my family and I. We will handle it as a unit.’ I was definitely raised like this, I was told not to seek outside help because it’s a set up lol. These professionals are not there to help, but to disrupt family dynamics, which I believe to SOME extent… however, not ALL professional help is negative. I ask for help from my personal tutor regarding my assignments and exams and it is helping me flourish as a university student. It can be beneficial sometimes. But ultimately, I’d like my help to come from God alone. There is nothing in this world that is too big for him to handle, honestly and I doubt his capabilities a little too often. Really, I should have an unshaken faith that God can do it all for me as he has proven himself capable plenty of times in my past when I was going through one of the toughest periods of my life as a young teen. My strength to overcome situations that are meant to break me, is a testimony of his capabilities and mercy.

I just want to urge everyone who is SUFFERING IN SILENCE to seek help where possible and most importantly, call out to the Lord and let him in, he will not cease to calm the storm going on within your mind and your life will become so much easier, I promise.

If there is anyone that would like to speak to me about whatever it is on their  mind, good and bad; feel free to contact me via email: maryajanaku@outlook.com.

Love you lots!

God bless you.

Leave a comment